top of page

My FIRST CAR!

At the tender young age of 16 years old, I was given the privilege of gaining access to transportation in receiving a California Drivers License and a vehicle from my loving parents. With gratitude, I used this privilege to offer services at the Retreat House of the Carmelite Sisters of the Most Sacred Heart of Los Angeles. After a rigorous school week of AP Trigonomotry and Calculus and AP Physics and AP classes, I would drive from Rialto to Los Angeles to volunteer my weekend to serve the Retreatants of the Retreat House. I would bring Classmates with me from school to join me and introduced them to the Catholic Faith. I enjoyed the presence of the Carmelite Sisters in their BEAUTIFUL WITNESS of the Consecrated Life in the Holy Habit of Carmel! I also enjoyed new friendships among the girls I met who eventually entered their Religious Community and to this day are Professed Sisters of their Religious Order. I continue to remain close to them in prayer and friendship among the girls I met through the Junior Auxiliary. Some girls received vocations to their Religious Community and some received vocations in the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony. As mothers with beautiful children, I remain friends with them. I am even the Godmother of her son!

The use of this wonderful privilege of having our own car at such a young age is a responsibility that must be respected and honored with Great Care! May we not offend our parents in using this privilege outside of what could ever dishonor them, but rather to give them greater TRUST in our mature use of this privilege. I love my parents for giving me such a GREAT GIFT at such a young age. And I pray that this honor given to them in winning the Congressman George Brown Award for many hours of Community Service gave them much to be proud of in this recognition from the City of Rialto. And also an HONOR to Our Blessed Mother in being CHOSEN as May Queen for the many hours of service offered at the Sacred Heart Retreat House as a Junior Auxiliary Volunteer!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page